a beef and broccoli dinner.

Recently I expressed to my husband how I wanted to learn how to cook meat. I only ever work with fish or chicken, and though it is easy, I feel like if you learn how to cook beef your menu has expanded 5-fold. Beef can go with anything – soup, vegetables, corn, bread, rice, tortillas… It’s just endless.

So I bought from Trader Joe’s a cheap container of steak sirloin tips. They’re the kind that you would throw in a stew or something, but I wanted to see if I could grill them up and have them be delicious bite-sized pieces of beef. I found a recipe to try, however I ended up adding a very much-needed ingredient, since I used regular soy sauce vs. a low-sodium option the author suggested — sugar. It was crazy salty from the regular soy sauce I used, so once again I had to frantically make last minute decisions to save dinner time.

Anyways! It turned out great according to the husband, but I’m going to keep adjusting this as time goes on, to perfect it a little more.

broccolibeefinpan

photo by: thehipkitchen.wordpress.com

Inspired by: Healthy Beef and Broccoli
Recipe by: ^; with my alterations in both ingredients and cooking instructions

My friends say: “Wow. This is awesome.”
I find this goes with: quinoa
Serving size: 2-3
Can be: dinner

The below-mentioned list of items, if exactly what I used in both item and measurement, will just be noted by name. You can find the measurements for that ingredient in the above link. But if anything is altered, I will note it below before the ingredient:

~ 1 lb container of sirloin roast tips from Trader Joe’s; under 1 lb is okay too.
corn starch
2-3 handfuls of broccoli
1/2 cup soy sauce (although I would do less
1/2 tsp-1 tsp minced garlic
1/8 or a sprinkle of dried ginger
some pepper
water
sugar (go tbls by tbls for desired sweetness)

  1. Mix steak in corn starch and pepper.
  2. I sprayed into pan some canola oil spray from Trader Joe’s, and then added the meat. It depends how well-done you want your meat to be cooked on both sides – I cooked mine about 5-10 minutes total for it to be totally well-done on the inside.
  3. When all the steak is cooked, take out of the pan, and put broccoli in. The recipe said if the pan was dry, to add more oil, but I don’t seem to recall needing to do that when I made it. Cook for about 5-6 minutes, moving broccoli around in pan so as not to burn.
  4. Make the sauce with the soy sauce, garlic, ginger, pepper, and water. When I added the sugar, it was later on, after step 5. But if you feel to mix the sugar in with the sauce mixture, it will probably have the same outcome. I just haven’t tried that method yet! Note: When adding, go tbls by tbls for desired sweetness.
  5. When broccoli is cooked, take it out, and then pour the sauce into the pan. Gently place the broccoli and steak into pan, stirring with the sauce. Cook for about 5-6 minutes.
  6. (Ignore this step if you’ve already added sugar!) As you’re stirring, add the sugar.

 

-m.

Leave a Reply

