pour-over coffee.

The Pour-Over

It was about eighteen years ago my parents introduced me to the coffee machine. As funny as it sounds, they decided they didn’t want to make coffee in the morning anymore, and instead trained their daughter how to make it. Mom always had her preferences, and dad always had his, but opinions aside I knew how to make good coffee before I was even 10 years old.

No, I did not drink coffee at 10 years old. But through the years, and especially when I was in college, I drank a ton of coffee. With both parents being coffee drinkers, I drank an actual ton of coffee. But I realized something more than it just being a means to stay awake to help me write papers – I came to love good coffee.

Some may ask, “What’s a pour-over?” Well, a pour-over just means you pour over hot water onto some freshly ground coffee.

Trust me, you can do this.

pourovercoffee

Source: me! (thehipkitchen.wordpress.com)
Recipe by: ^

My friends say: “Wow, this is really good.” “It comforts me to know we’re in good hands with you making coffee for everyone.” “This coffee is better than your Dad’s. Don’t tell him I said that.”
I find this goes with: early mornings, late risings, in transit, and while relaxing on a rainy day
Serving size: 2 – 2.5 cups
Can be: post-dinner snack with dessert

1 pour-over (I highly suggest a ceramic one [mine is from Starbucks. It was $9-$12])
4-5 spoonfuls of your favorite coffee grounds (I like medium to dark roasts)
bubbling hot water
1 coffee filter
1 mug

It seems easy, right? It is! But, it’s also really easy to mess it up. So if it takes you a few times, that’s totally okay. You might find my recipe is too concentrated, for example. Just know that the more water you use, the more water-y it will be. More coffee means a stronger, more powerful taste.

  1. Heat water to almost bubbling/boiling. This can be done in the microwave, on the stovetop, or in a water boiler (I have a fantastic Hamilton Beach one).
  2. As water heats up, put coffee filter into pour-over, lining the inside. To help it stay, you can rinse the inside of the pour-over with the filter in it. Just be sure the water is dumped out and not filtered into the mug.
  3. Put finely, pre-ground coffee beans into the filter. Shake the filter/pour-over slightly so they’re evenly distributed.
  4. Place pour-over over a coffee mug.
  5. Gently pour hot water over grounds. Do this in a circular fashion, starting from the edges and moving in towards the center.
  6. Wait for water to drain through filter and into mug. As it’s filtering in, keep pouring water over the grounds. I would pour water into filter, filling it up, no more than 2-3 times. But also watch that it doesn’t overflow! If you want to add creamer/half and half/milk, be sure to leave a little room at the top for that.

 

-m.

Leave a Reply

