surfin’ salmon.

This weekend, I went back to my roots. Being back in sunny-side So Cal is just too good, and also getting to see my parents is great. This morning I immediately began Yelping restaurants that aren’t in Dallas, and remembering old places I’d been to. One of my favorite local spots just opened another location closer to home, so naturally I pre-ordered lunch via the app before the restaurant even opened.

I absolutely love fusion food. There isn’t enough of it anywhere. During my unintentional hiatus these past 2 weeks, I have 4 new updates to The Hip Kitchen coming, and have learned some stuff along the way. Life stuff. Like realizing there isn’t always time (or ability) to cook healthily. There isn’t always that desire. I ate so many bowls of Lucky Charms this week you don’t even want to know. But there is a way to make it work, and to prepare food in a healthy, timely way.

A lot of times we may feel that it requires a lot of money to cook well. I am here to admit that that question has a yes and no answer. It doesn’t require a lot of money, surely, or else I wouldn’t even try. But it requires your doing research to figure out what it is that you can do to save money, without spending it on food that you know isn’t good for you. Simple, affordable food can be really amazing. Actually, it is really amazing. And it’s easy to prepare, I promise.

Here’s something really good, that really doesn’t require that many ingredients. My husband calls this “Surfin’ Salmon”, because the lettuce makes it look like it’s on a surfboard. So it stuck. He gets to name this one, just this once.

surfin' salmon

photo by: thehipkitchen.wordpress.com

Source: Marissa, at thehipkitchen.wordpress.com
Recipe by: ^, but for the sauce: Ana’s Honey and Soy Glazed Salmon Recipe

My friends say: “Mmmm. So good.” (need there be any other quote?)
I find this goes with: oranges, probably is great with rice/quinoa as well
Serving size: any amount you want, just keep in mind that generally 1 salmon filet, or just under that, feeds one person.
Can be: dinner

Instructions for sauce ingredients are in recipe link above.

salmon
some romaine lettuce leaves
1 orange

sauce:
mustard (recipe calls for Dijon, but regular is just fine)
olive oil
soy sauce
lime juice
water

  1. Spray a fair amount of canola oil cooking spray first into frying pan, then cook salmon until (mostly) well done.
  2. Continue to cook salmon. Mix together sauce ingredients, then pour into frying pan with fish. Sauté fish until well done.
  3. Place salmon on plate. Rinse and peel orange. Carefully slice orange in half, not lengthwise but from width to width. Cut both halves in same way into quarter-inch slices.
  4. Use one or two whole lettuce leaves on each plate. Place salmon on top, followed by orange slices. Serve warm. I eat these like a wrap, but my husband uses a fork.

-m.

Leave a Reply

